Inner Beauty: Directly Related to Spirituality?


Question mark in Esbjerg

Thinking outside the box of what your parents/guardians,etc. may have taught you… I would like to hear your personal opinions on the following question: Can ‘inner beauty‘ be purchased?

One generic internet definition I found: Inner beauty is a concept used to describe the positive aspects of something that is not physically observable.

[Polled Answer #1: Yes, through peace of mind that money brings.]

[Polled Answer #2: I heard it said once that money is like health: You don’t really think about them when you have them, but you think about them ALL THE TIME when you don’t. So I would say no.

Me: So, just for clarification: Are you saying that if a person is wealthy, they don’t think about / consider the need for/ or   desire ‘inner beauty‘, therefore they would never use their funds to purchase it?? …if in fact purchasing inner beauty was an option…

Poll Respondent #2: I think I was more reacting to (the first answer’s) line of thought: that inner peace is a prereq for inner beauty… Though I disagree that money can truly offer inner peace, thus inner beauty can’t be bought.]

[Poll Respondent #1: Okay let me clarify. Its not to say that inner beauty is obsolete without money but, with more you can be more do more have more. I had it instilled in me as a child that “money” or people with money was a negative. When obviously its not. At the end of the day we all have to trade time for money. Is it not possible that people are limited to the box they were raised in unable to find there true self.Therefore there inner beauty never had a chance to shine. This is a vice versa answer.]

So again, we see where one question leads to a plethora of others. Including: How would you define ‘inner beauty’? Can it truly be defined or is its definition always according to a personal belief? Is your own inner beauty directly related to your ‘spirituality’?  Is it something you possess innately? Can it be learned/cultivated/evolved or otherwise acquired? Does it boil down to a matter of discovering/embracing what is already there in anyone? Can people really change who they are, or just their actions? …and perhaps for some, another question would be… Can money really buy you anything of value? or maybe: Are you considering the question thoroughly enough? Do you ultimately think in terms of black and white, good and evil, positive or negative? (Is Schrödinger’s cat dead or alive?)

Would you ever consider paying for a seminar titled, “Establish & Emanate Your Inner Beauty”?

~ by Flawless Destiny on March 6, 2012.

3 Responses to “Inner Beauty: Directly Related to Spirituality?”

  1. This is an interesting topic: Can ‘inner beauty‘ be purchased? From the comments above relating to money, money can have no bearing on “inner beauty” as it is an external thing. If “inner beauty” was based on money or access to money, than those with money would consider themselves as internally beautiful, yet evidence shows otherwise. Consider the “rich & famous” or those on “People” magazine for example. We see story after story of the rich and externally beautiful people not feeling internally beautiful based on their behaviors, attitudes, and choices. Obviously then, if anyone could purchase this quality, they would be able to, yet it is not happening.

    “Inner beauty” comes with a peace and tranquility that I believe only comes from knowing who you truly are. That is where I have to turn to some frame of reference that is uniquely true to determine who I am. For I may believe many things that are false, but they have been working for me so far in my life, but are not really true. So you need a reference point. I turn to the Scriptures, yep The Bible. It is a book of truth. It has been around for thousands of years and has yet to be disproven. Many have tried or they choose to only listen to the parts they like, but all in all, it is truth.

    With that reference, we look to see who God, the creator of life and author of the Bible, says we are. If we examine the book and see that we are made in His image (Genesis chapter 2), male and female He created us, then we have instant worth and “inner beauty” due to who we are and who we have been made to be. When our inner beauty is based on this truth, that we are fearfully and wonderfully made by a holy and wonderful Creator with a purpose in this life and for the life beyond, then that inner beauty is not based on any circumstance that life could bring my way, not money or the lack there of, or my external beauty which fades over time, or things I own that can be lost or taken away. Inner beauty is not based on my role or job/career which can change over time. It is only based on the ultimate truth that I am who He (God) created me to be, perfect in His design, made just exactly how He wanted to fulfill His purposes. There is joy and peace in that and most of all, knowing that I am beautiful because of who I am. And nothing in this life can ever change that fact! Praise the Lord.

    Blessings,

  2. So to summarize…. For you, K.A.Berry, the answer would be yes, ‘inner beauty’ is directly related to your spirituality or your personal beliefs. And no, inner beauty cannot be purchased.

    I appreciate your response.

    I would challenge a point or two, however, in that if inner beauty were possible to purchase, any person with the financial means would have bought some. I believe you have then implied that inner beauty is something any and every person desires.
    This reasoning would also lead people to believe that you cannot be both wealthy and beautiful within, which is simply not true. (No matter what ‘point of reference’ you turn to.) Just keeping with the same idea as you stated in that an external thing can have no bearing on something internal.
    I would also say…. what you see in the media is not always a true reflection of the person. And even if it were, there is no one knowledgeable enough about another’s heart to judge them at the degree that you have here. Especially when the ‘concept’ of inner-beauty is, as you posted, directly related to your own personal spirituality.

    Again a response that poses the question, is it innate? According to what you have written about your beliefs, inner beauty is an innate part of who you are because your were made in His image…… So what is it that makes you so different from the people you pointed out as the “rich and famous”?? In who’s image were they created? being that they do not possess inner beauty?

    Please understand my purpose in challenging your ideas, is simply to further my understanding of the way you see it.

    On a side note of curiosity (only answer if you feel comfortable): When did your beliefs or passion about scriptures begin? As in, were you raised as a child in this particular ….faith…. or was it something that you were introduced to/happened upon/ and further developed later in life?

    • Copied from response above with new comments.
      “So to summarize…. For you, K.A.Berry, the answer would be yes, ‘inner beauty’ is directly related to your spirituality or your personal beliefs. And no, inner beauty cannot be purchased.”
      -Correct.

      “I would challenge a point or two, however, in that if inner beauty were possible to purchase, any person with the financial means would have bought some. I believe you have then implied that inner beauty is something any and every person desires.”
      -Correct. It is descibed in the secular world as self-esteem and is attempted to be taught in our classrooms because it is something we all “need” to have a successful life Yet it for it to last and be permanent, then it cannot be based on something that can change, thus the need for a reference point that is outside of us.

      “This reasoning would also lead people to believe that you cannot be both wealthy and beautiful within, which is simply not true. (No matter what ‘point of reference’ you turn to.) Just keeping with the same idea as you stated in that an external thing can have no bearing on something internal.”
      – I agree with your first statement, you can have inner beauty whether you are rich or poor if it comes from an outside reference point that is unchangeble. Money has no bearing on your inner beauty as it is can change in our life i.e. gain some or lose some. If our inner beauty is based on an outside unchangable reference point, it does not matter what else in life changes, my inner beauty is in tact.

      “I would also say…. what you see in the media is not always a true reflection of the person. And even if it were, there is no one knowledgeable enough about another’s heart to judge them at the degree that you have here. Especially when the ‘concept’ of inner-beauty is, as you posted, directly related to your own personal spirituality.”
      – You are correct that I cannot see someone’s heart to judge them, but the Bible does tell us that you can tell a tree by it’s fruit. A good tree will bear good fruit and a bad tree will bear bad fruit. My comment was merely look at the fruit of a celebrities life. If money or fame or power… could bring inner beauty, then why to these individuals struggle with drugs, or shop lifting, or any other issue that a not wealthy or non famous person does. It shows that their inner beauty or lack there of is based on something that is not unchangeable like the Bible. If my inner beauty is based on my fame and some bad press comes out about me. Then my inner beauty is affected. It will not be that way if your inner beauty is based on who God made you to be. It won’t matter what others say or think or do. My standing and inner beauty is firm.

      “Again a response that poses the question, is it innate? According to what you have written about your beliefs, inner beauty is an innate part of who you are because your were made in His image…… So what is it that makes you so different from the people you pointed out as the “rich and famous”?? In who’s image were they created? being that they do not possess inner beauty?”
      – We are all created in God’s image, I am only different than the “rich and famous” in that I am choosing to believe what God as said about each of us. They appear, by their life choices or fruit, to not believe that and therefore base their inner beauty on things that can change.

      “Please understand my purpose in challenging your ideas, is simply to further my understanding of the way you see it.”
      -No problem.

      “On a side note of curiosity (only answer if you feel comfortable): When did your beliefs or passion about scriptures begin? As in, were you raised as a child in this particular ….faith…. or was it something that you were introduced to/happened upon/ and further developed later in life?”
      -Great questions! I was raised to believe that there was no God I guess you could say. We never talked about spiritual things at all. Life was just life, no real meaning or purpose. Then my dad, who in essence was a form of god to me in that he provided for my needs, he was a source of wisdom, he could solve my problems for the most part, was killed in a hit and run accident while out running. It started me searching for the meaning of life and what my purpose might be. I tried several things I thought might answer my questions, but they did not. I met a couple new friends that went to a church right across from my house. I started listening to the Bible being read and started reading it for myself. I prayed that if this God was real that He would reveal himself to me. I did not have any major emotional or spiritual moment or experience, but all of a sudden as I was reading the Bible, it started to make a lot of sense, like it was speaking directly to my heart and that it was worth listening to and following with my whole heart. I have been doing that now since my senior year in high school. I just turned 42 on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

 
