Another successful day:


SpeechThis afternoon, I participated in a toastmaster’s contest of speech evaluations. (Giving an impromptu speech) I received the FIRST place prize! A certificate and a $20 gift card to Oregano’s! Now I’ll be representing our group at the district competition…

His speech was about turning negative things in life into positive outcomes & gave a few examples of how to overcome, heal, & forgive. My impromptu speech was to point out the areas he excelled & also give recommendations in areas where he could improve his communication & presentation skills.

I had to give my remarks to the audience (about 25 people today) in a formal speech format, with only 5 minutes of prep time.

The fact that I get such high anxiety talk to a group is exactly WHY I joined toastmasters… To help me be a better communicator & give effective presentations. That’s the whole purpose of toastmasters! 🙂

~ by Flawless Destiny on February 22, 2012.

2 Responses to “Another successful day:”

  1. Congratulations on your win and good luck at district level.

  2. […] Another successful day: (flawlessdestiny.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

 
